The Historic Electric Building is a venture Silverado Interests, CDK, Hunt properties and Atlas Properties. The Historic Electric Building is a 106–unit apartment community located in downtown Fort Worth. Built in 1930 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the 18-story elegant brick building features rich stone, terra cotta detailing and decorative friezes. Located near the financial district, the cultural center and museums, The Historic Electric Building gives you a touch of the past with the modern conveniences of today in a great downtown location.
The Historic Electric Building was designed by Fort Worth Architect Wyatt C. Hedrick for the Texas Electric Service Company. L.E. Meyers Co. of Chicago was the General Contractor. One of the unique features of the design is in the cast stone ornamentation. The decorative elements feature a hand grasping electrical bolts. Although the building appears to be one structure, it is actually three buildings, each constructed at a slightly different time. The tower opened in 1929. Shortly after the tower opened, a six story annex was constructed to the north and along Lamar Street. The annex opened in 1930. The building also housed the Hollywood Theater, and was the last phase constructed. It opened in 1930 and featured more Art Deco elements than the tower or the annex. The Hollywood closed in 1976, but it is the only partially remaining downtown theater from the 1920’s and 30’s. In 1996, the building was converted to 106 apartments, most notable of which is the penthouse unit. In order to provide parking for the tenants, the old theater space was converted to a parking garage. Elements of the theater remain from the balcony level upward. The original lobby of the electric company has been restored. This lobby features a beautiful vaulted ceiling and is occupied by Ranstad.